Thursday, February 3, 2011

2010 SPACE Prize Winners Announced

Bob Corby, organizer of the annual Small Press and Alternative Comics Expo (SPACE), has announced the winners of the 2010 SPACE Prize.  
The prize, which honors excellence in small press and independent comics, is chosen from among comics submitted by exhibitors at the 2010 SPACE show.  Bob whittled down the dozens of submissions to a list of 10 finalists in three categories: General, Mini-Comic, and Webcomic.  The winners are then chosen by two judges in each category and a vote of the exhibitors.  Each of these  vote for their three favorites from among the finalists.  The winner of the General category receives $300 and a spiffy plaque.  The Mini-Comic and Webcomics winners get $50 each and an equally spiffy plaque. 
I was honored this year to be asked by Bob to be one of the judges in the General category.   I'm very pleased that two of the three books I voted for tied for first place. They are both great comics and truly deserving of this honor.  I'll write more about the General category winners and why I voted for them in future posts.
But now, without further ado, the winners of the 2010 SPACE Prize are:
***General Category***

Tied for 1st Place:
Cragmore: Book One
by Pat Lewis

Mirror Mind
by Tori Woollcott

3rd Place:
edited by Matt Dembicki

1st Place:
Board of Superheroes #2
by Matt Feazell

2nd Place:
Veggie Dog Saturn #4
by Jason Young

3rd Place:
Ultimate Lost Kisses  #11
by Brian John Mitchell and Dave Sim


1st Place:
by Jed Collins

2nd Place:
by Jeff Gibbons

3rd Place:
by Mike Indovina 

The 12th annual Small Press and Alternative Comics Expo will be held on  Saturday, March 19 and Sunday, March 20, 2011 at the Ramada Hotel and Conference Center, 4900 Sinclair Road in Columbus, Ohio.  The presentation of the 2010 SPACE Prizes will take place on Saturday afternoon. For more details on the show and the SPACE Prize, check out the SPACE web-site.

No comments:

Post a Comment